Publicist is longtime musician/producer/performer Sebastian Thomson. He is mainly known as a founding member of post rock innovators Trans Am, though he now also plays in the progressive metal band Baroness and in the past was a member of Ian Svenonius’ psychedelic punk outfit Weird War.

Publicist, however, is Sebastian’s electronic music project. Because he is a studio musician and engineer trained in drums, guitar, bass, and keyboard, he approaches the music from a different perspective and uses almost no sampling. Publicist’s studio tracks are produced using a combination of vintage and modern equipment, and take cues from the darker corners of acid house, new beat, and Detroit techno. His latest tracks were released on Planet E records and were mixed in collaboration with Carl Craig.

When performing live, Publicist sequences the synths and not the drums, preferring to play an electronically treated drum kit in the middle of the dance floor. This adds an element of sweat and instrumental virtuosity not found in most electronic producer’s live performances.

Sebastian is an Argentine native whose family had to flee that country’s military dictatorship of the 80s. After finding temporary residence in Brazil, Holland, and France, Sebastian and his family settled in Washington DC. He then lived in London for 5 years. Publicist is now based in Brooklyn.

Publicist began while Sebastian was living in London, and was therefore originally a European project. Publicist has played in scores of European cities, towns, and festivals in the last six years, and is now performing more in North and South America. The first Publicist EP was released in 2009.


Momma/Stone Age 12” (with Ian Svenonius) Touching Music 2009

Gomma Dance Tracks EP (“Chain Gang” with Ian Svenonius) Gomma 2009

Keep it Off the Record EP Voltaire Records 2010
1. Hand To Mouth
2. Miscalculation
3 Schnell und Sauber
4 Keep it Off the Record
5 Self Similar

Split Infinitive EP (Split EP with Tussle) Voltaire Records 2011
1. Do You Know Who I Am
2. Hand to Mouth (Tussle Remix)
3. Soft Crush (Publicist Remix

Hard Work EP Dither Down Records 2011
1. Hardwork
2. Hardwork (Walter and Royce Remix)
3. I Won’t
4. I Won’t (Galactic Classics Remix)

Professional Show Business EP Part I DiscoTexas Records 2011
1. Come to My Senses
2. Make Ends Meet
3. Make Ends Meet (Zimmer Edit)
4. Come to My Senses (Moullinex Edit)

Professional Show Business EP Part II DiscoTexas Records 2011
1. Bite
2. Unnecessary Roughness
3. Bite (Justin Faust Edit)
4. Unnecessary Roughness (MODE Edit)

Slave EP (Valcrond Video/Juno Records) 2014

1. Slave
2. Outside

Artists and Models EP (Planet E Communications) 2015

1. Artists and Models
2. Spread it Around

Recent Posts